1. Home
  2. About Us

About Us

ChristchurchNZ is the city’s economic development and city profile agency charged with igniting bold ambition, excitement, connecting changemakers, stimulating economic activity and attracting visitors to Ōtautahi Christchurch.

To fulfil our mission of igniting bold ambition in our city and region, we provide targeted initiatives to support innovation and business growth while promoting our city nationally and internationally. We aim to ensure its reputation grows as a vibrant and exciting city surrounded by mountains and beaches - a place where our people experiment and test new ideas and innovate in business, technology and society. 

Our background

ChristchurchNZ was established on 1 July 2017, following the merger of Christchurch & Canterbury Tourism (CCT), Canterbury Development Corporation (CDC), International Education, the Convention Bureau and the Christchurch City Council’s Major Events team. 

Our Board

ChristchurchNZ has an independent board, monitored by the Christchurch City Council’s Finance and Performance Committee.

  • Dr Therese Arseneau, Chairperson
  • Roland Van Bommel
  • Paul Bingham
  • Stephen Barclay
  • Andrew Turner
  • Mike Davidson